Our Partners

[fusion_text]The United Nations Human Settlements Program (UN-Habitat) has facilitated the creation of DiMSUR in cooperation with the United Nations International Strategy for Disaster Reduction (UN-ISDR) and is acting as the secretariat ad-interim of the Centre since its launch in 2013.

DiMSUR has benefited from the financial support of the European Commission’s Humanitarian Aid and Civil Protection department (ECHO) and the ACP-EU Natural DRR Programme, managed by the Global Facility for Disaster Reduction and Recovery (GFDRR) at the World Bank.

Many other organizations are directly involved with  DiMSUR through their membership to the Executive Board. Board Members include the directors of the national institutions responsible for Disaster Risk Reduction (DRR) and Climate Change Adaptation (CCA) in each of the member state namely:

  • INGC (Instituto Nacional de Gestao de Calamidades) for Mozambique
  • DODMA (Deparment of Disaster Management Affairs) for Malawi
  • BNGRC (Bureau National de Gestion des Risques de Catastrophe) for Madagascar
  • COSEP (Centre des Opérations de Secour et de la Protection Civile) for the Union of Comoros

The Executive Board is also composed of representatives of the Disaster Risk Reduction Unit of the SADC, the University of Antananarivo (Madagascar) and the Northwest University (South Africa) is  hosting the African Centre for Disaster Study.

Other partners of DiMSUR are: the Southern Africa Society for Disaster Reduction (SASDiR), the Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affaires (OCHA), the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO), the Regional Inter-Agency Standing Committee (RIASCO), OXFAM International, COOPI (Cooperazione Internazionale) and the Eduardo Mondlane University (Mozambique).

DiMSUR is currently looking for DRR, CCA and Urban resilience stakeholders to be part of its consultative body whose aim is to assist and provide inputs for the implementation of the Centre activities while guiding its strategic decisions.[/fusion_text]

Share this post

Headquarter in Maputo and Sub-Units in Member States

University Eduardo Mondlane Campus (UEM)
Julius Nyerere Avenue, #3453
Sciences Faculty – Physics Department, 2nd Floor
Maputo – Mozambique

Tel: +258 (84) 0531199
secretariat@dimsur.org |www.dimsur.org