The sub-regional Technical Centre for Disaster Risk Management, Sustainability and Urban Resilience (DiMSUR). Its founding members are the Governments of Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique and the Union of Comoros. Its Headquarter is in Maputo, Mozambique, and it has antennas in the other four member countries. Its purpose is to provide Technical Assistance on Disaster Risk Reduction and Adaptation to Climate Change in Southern Africa and the South-West Indian Ocean. It operates as a non-profit, autonomous, regional organization, international in status and non-political in management, staffing and operations. It focuses on Urban Resilience to respond to the increasing demand of capacity-building in the areas of urban risk reduction and resilience services. It works with Governments, NGOs, the UN, the Academia and the Civil Society.


DiMSUR is composed of four organs:

  • The Conference of Ministers, with Ministers from the member states;
  • The Executive Board (EB), composed by the four Member countries; SADC; University of Antananarivo; the Northwest University; UN-Habitat and a representative of Civil Society;
  • The Consultative Group, composed by a range of recognized experts and organizations;
  • The Secretariat, a team of technical experts headed by the Executive Director.

The process of establishment of  DiMSUR was facilitated by the United Nations Human Settlements Program (UN-Habitat), in cooperation with the United Nations International Strategy for Disaster Reduction (UNISDR), with the support of the European Commission Directorate-General Humanitarian Aid and Civil Protection (ECHO) and the ACP-EU Natural DRR Programme, managed by the Global Facility for Disaster Reduction and Recovery (GFDRR) at the World Bank.